Panama and Lima Group Declaration

The Governments of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama, Paraguay and Peru express the following:

  1. They recognize and express their full support to the President of the National Assembly, Juan Guaidó, who has assumed the position as President Interim of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, in compliance with the constitutional norms and the illegitimacy of the Nicolás Maduro regime.

  2. They support the beginning of the process of democratic transition in Venezuela within the framework of its Constitution, in order to hold new elections, in the shortest time, with the participation of all political actors and with the international guarantees and standards necessary for a democratic process .

  3. They condemn the acts of violence that occurred in Venezuela and urge that the rule of law, the fundamental rights of the people and social peace be guaranteed, while the government's transition takes place.

  4. They confirm their decision to continue firmly supporting the recovery of democracy in Venezuela.