Panama and the Lima Group condemn the arrest of National Assembly President, Mr. Juan Guaido

The Governments of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Panama, Paraguay, Peru and Saint Lucia, declare the following after the serious events that ocurred in Venezuela this morning:

  1. They condemn the arbitrary detention of deputy Juan Guaido, President of the National Assembly of Venezuela, by the Bolivarian National Intelligence Service (SEBIN) that occurred the morning of today.

  2. They express their strongest rejection of any action that affects the physical integrity of the members of the National Assembly of Venezuela, their families and collaborators, and any pressure or coercion that prevents the full and normal exercise of their powers as a constitutional body and legitimately elected in Venezuela.

Original Statement in Spanish here: