Latest News
Links Vert Presidencia de Panamá MIRE Panama Canal Super Bancos Tribunal Electoral MEF Panamá Emprende – Online Tool to Create a Business Enterprise in Panama IPAT MCI Migración
Requirements for yellow fever vaccinations

Panama’s Ministry of Health has issued the following public statement regarding Yellow Fever vaccinations:

• The Ministry of Health has reevaluated the measures established August 5th, 2008 related to the need for a vaccine against Yellow Fever when traveling to Panama.

• The Yellow Fever vaccine, starting November 1st, will be RECOMMENDED and will not be compulsory for travelers originating in or traveling to countries listed by the World Health Organization as at risk for transmitting the disease.

• After an analysis of the epidemiological situation of the countries listed as at risk for Yellow Fever transmission, the Ministry of Health recommends the application of a vaccine against Yellow Fever for those travelers coming from or going to the following countries: Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and Venezuela in South America and Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Congo Democratic Republic, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and Sudan in Africa.

• Travelers arriving from these countries will receive a booklet upon their arrival in Panama with a description of the symptoms and warning signs of Yellow Fever and if any of these conditions become evident, they should call 800-8743 (TELEURGE) to receive assistance by a health official.

• Travelers in transit at airports, ports or border posts are exempt from these measures, irrespective of their country of origin.

• To facilitate the vaccination available to travelers, in addition to the existing facilities in the Metropolitan Health Region located in Los Rios (reverted areas); in the facilities of the Extended Immunization Program (Programa Ampliado de Inmunizaciones, or PAI), behind the former site of the US Embassy on Balboa Avenue; in the Office of International Maritime Sanitation (Oficina de Sanidad Maritima Internacional) located in the Port of Cristobal, in the province of Colon; and the Office of Regional Epidemiological Coordination (Oficina de la Coordinacion Regional de Epidemiologia) in the district of David, province of Chiriqui; two new facilities will be opened for international vaccinations, one in the province of Herrera and the other in the province of Cocle.

• As an additional preventive measure, it is recommended that persons who enter the country with the intent of traveling to East Panama, Darien and the Kuna Yala Comarca in the Republic of Panama obtain a vaccine against Yellow Fever at least 10 days prior to their visit to these areas.
embassyofpanama.org / Rights Reserved Embassy of Panama©2007
Embassy of Panama
2862 McGill Terrace NW Washington, DC 20008 | T (202) 483.1407 F (202) 483.8413 | info@embassyofpanama.org
Images provided by IPAT, ACP & La Prensa | website developed by Revolver